In the Beginning. . . What Exactly did God Create?

I’ve been reading Marshall Vian Summer’s most recently published book, Life in the Universe. There is a chapter with the title “God the Greater Community”. This just so happens to be the phrase I have had a persistent thought to use as the name of the blog I’ve been meaning to write for years. I took it as a sign to get in action.

The message of this remarkable book calls me deeply into my relationship with God, with a God far bigger than I had ever conceived possible. Summers’ work speaks of the God of the Greater Community- God as the creator of the larger universe in which we live that is, in fact, filled with intelligent life beyond our planet.

As a child I was always struck by the way the Bible began. It mentioned that God created the stars but then only focuses on the world, our world. When I learned in science class that all those stars are like our sun and have planets and moons around them it made sense to me that God would put life in the rest of the universe, too. Since God created millions of life forms on Earth why not elsewhere? God was so prolific and creative here why not out there?

It wasn’t until I encountered the teaching of Marshall Vian Summers as an adult that this inkling I had as a child was finally confirmed- there is life in the universe, there is  intelligent life in the universe, and some of those races of intelligent beings are here visiting our world! I was reminded that, despite my personal preferences and ideals, all those who are intelligent do not always have good intentions. This book and other of Summers’ books, especially Allies of Humanity, speak to the unfortunate nature of our galactic visitors’ true intentions.

It’s a story we’ve heard so many times in the history of humanity: foreign visitor’s land on the naive natives’ shore; the natives want to believe the foreigners are here to brings gifts of salvation and peace; the foreigner’s gladly play into these fantasies and easily overcome the natives who sit on wealth the foreigners want for themselves. There is usually a tragic ending to such stories. The natives are left devastated, robbed of their natural inheritance, denied their freedom, enslaved or relegated to the underclasses as a new authority takes hold of their lands.

Apparently this is not only the story of natives here on Earth – it is the tragic reality of countless races of intelligent life throughout the universe. And more concerning to me at this moment, it has the potential to be the story of the whole human family if we don’t wise up and start speaking about the reality of extra terrestrial life that is interfering in our world.

Learning about this was shocking to the part of my mind that prefers to think life is about me and what I want. Yet the truth of the reality of life in the universe had a strong resonance with a deeper part of myself that is intrinsically connected with life and is here in the world for a purpose. As I continued reading I was able to tap into a deep calm within me, a place of inner knowing, which has always confirmed what is true and what to do. That place of inner knowing was very clear that this is true and what is there to do is speak. And so I speak, or more accurately, I write.

Leave a Reply

